I’d like to share with you a fantastic poem about politics in Australia by Victorian poet Ashley Capes. Ashley is a brilliant writer and a major influence on my work. Read more about Ashley’s poetry and fiction writing over at his blog.

Opaque

1.

another poem
from another white guy

no revolution
in this one, no

and not because apathy is so strong
in this place
but because my words
feel straw-like now

the light
chases right through them

2.

if I told you we took a wrong turn
would you back-pedal?

re-elect
the same mistakes?

they come back, once given
from ivory teeth and wings
gone grey
now falling
in the slowest of motion

a tinkling of brass
with every bounce
now crashing
into a hell most uncertain,
tripping me when I read
newsprint
newspeak
promises

oh clean my skull

is someone coming to do something about this?
only it isn’t soon enough

Leave a Reply

