Southerly

by Anthony Lawrence

Swamp Riddles: Robert Adamson

SwampRiddlesIn 1978, my mother met me at the door and handed me a note, saying “This is what you have to do if you’re serious and want to be a real poet.” She had written a list that included:

– read everything you can get your hands on
– go to second hand bookshops and start a poetry collection
– write every day
– say no to your friends more often

I assumed that while I’d been at work, she’d had a major epiphany about poetry, and was now passing on this crucial news.

I’d discovered poetry at boarding school after finding Leonard Cohen’s Selected Poems and Richard Brautigan’s Rommel Drives on Deep Into Egypt. I stole those books and after leaving school took them with me to Yanco Station, in the Riverina, where I worked for a year or so as…

View original post 1,899 more words

Leave a Reply

